Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Bon Appetit !

Time change to Daylight Savings Time gave me a late morning start.  I decided on brunch instead of breakfast:  fried slices of bologna (baloney) with blades of mustard and mayonnaise and a side of canned spinach with a drizzle of apple cider vinegar.  Life is good.

The feast reminded me of the time I made cuisine americaine avec 3 sauces:  boiled hot dogs with mustard, mayonnaise, and ketsup, served with pork and beans.  Yummers.

The Visitor.

Some mornings a bluebird flies up against my study window, pitches briefly, looks around and leaves.  What does it seek?  The former owner had a cat and three dogs.  Last spring they were here.  Later I saw a pair of bluebirds in the back yard.  All clear of pets?  Or does it have something to do with me?

Notes on Reading.  Fiction.  Wallace Stegner.  Crossing to Safety (1987).  Modern Library Paperback Edition, 2002.

Through the story of the friendship of two couples, from 1937-1974, the reader gains insights into the nature of friendship, love, marriage, suffering, and sympathy.  Through the characters and their situations, we gain understanding of the pleasures of life enhanced by literature, art, music, learning, and the awareness of the natural world.

In this edition are a perceptive introduction by Terry Tempest Williams and an interesting biographical sketch of Stegner by T.H. Watkins.  I don’t keep many books.  This one’s a keeper.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, March 15, 2017

  1. David Abell says:

    At your suggestion, I have downloaded the Stegner book from the DPL.

    On Wed, Mar 15, 2017 at 5:22 AM, billwednesdayblog wrote:

    > billwednesdayblog posted: “Bon Appetit ! Time change to Daylight Savings > Time gave me a late morning start. I decided on brunch instead of > breakfast: fried slices of bologna (baloney) with blades of mustard and > mayonnaise and a side of canned spinach with a drizzle of apple cide” >

  2. fhobart2013 says:

    Probably, the visitor blue bird was looking for a friend in the reflection. The bluebird may want you to put up a suet feeder!

Leave a comment