Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Sign at a Veterinary Clinic. 

“To Flea Or Not To Flea?”

School Rivalry.

On Franklin Street, in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, I stopped by Trolly Stop Hot Dogs to read the menu.  It offers various tempting options, with appropriate names and descriptions, such as North Carolina Dog (deli mustard, chili slaw), Tar Heel Dog (deli mustard, chili, onions, slaw), Old Well Dog (deli mustard, mild salsa, onions, diced tomatoes), Bell Tower Dog (mayonnaise and melted cheese).  Near the bottom of the list is Duke Dog (totally plain.)

At the Mount Olive Pickle Festival.

I saw a tent advertising “Shipwreck Seasonings” and stopped.  I tried the Captain’s Blend, appropriate to me, for in college I was called the Captain, and I have always fancied the sea.  I liked it and bought a bottle.  The vendor enclosed a business card “so you can order down to Wilmington and we’ll mail you some more.”  I’ve tried it on fired and scrambled eggs.  It’s delicious.

At the Local Mall.

Some mannequins, in shiny orange, black, white, or red, lack facial features.  They are heads, necks, torso, arms, and legs.  Some have no heads.  Some have a screw instead of a head on which to put a hat.

Two old men sit at a table in the food court.  One wears a veteran’s baseball cap.  He is fat.  The other has long grey hair.  He is thin.  They do not eat or drink.  They watch people pass by and talk.  They look grumpy.  Although I would not not want to sit and talk with them, I like them.

In the store window of the Build-a-Bear Workshop, there are cats, dogs, a lion, a rabbit, a duck, a dinosaur, and two bears, all in spring attire.  I would name the shop Build-a-Creature Workshop.

Notes on Reading.  Nonfiction.  Pete Hamill, Downtown.  Little, Brown and Company, 2004.

Hamill presents an interesting tour of lower Manhattan, a place he knows and loves well.  He presents information and insights about places, people, and happenings from the settlement through the early 2000’s.  Topics include architecture, art, music, history, business, journalism, and life styles.  He narrates all with the relaxed manner of a knowledgeable, entertaining, informal tour guide.  It’s one of my favorite books.  This is my second reading of it, and I look forward to the next.

Writer’s Holiday.

Thank you for reading.  I will not post next Wednesday, May 10.  I plan to resume on Wednesday, May 17.

About billwednesdayblog

Retired high school English and French teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday, May 3, 2017

  1. Penny Evans says:

    I am curious what is in the Captain’s Blend. Sounds yummy. I used to stock Mt Olive pickles at King Soopers.

  2. Interested to learn more about fired eggs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

