Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Omens, Harbingers, or SOMEthin.  

Just this week–mid-morning aubades from mourning doves in the back yard.  And as I drove into the driveway one afternoon, a mockingbird flew from my mailbox to somewhere across the street.

Movies.

Browsing at a video store, I chose three movies to rent.  After I saw them, I realized I had enjoyed them in theaters at different times in my life:  high school (From Russia, With Love), college years (Midnight Cowboy), and first decade of teaching (Jaws).  I thought each of them good then.  This time, I thought them even better.

Notes on Reading.  Nonfiction.

Dominique Loreau.  L’Art de la Simplicite.  English translation by Louise Rogers Lalaurie.  St. Martin’s Griffin, 2016.

Loreau gives directives for simplifying and intensifying life by addressing possession, care for the body and health, and development of mind and spirit.

I found the suggestions relevant, since I have recently simplified my life by moving and since I continue to do so.

Sometimes a writer directly addresses an interest of the reader.  In a section on reading Loreau provides this advice, “…extract from your reading the things that touch you personally, and copy them down.  This will constitute a living, vibrant portrait of your true nature.”

I am now working on my twelfth collection of quotations from reading.

About billwednesdayblog

Retired high school English and French teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday, February 8, 2017

  1. Jo Boggs says:

    Oliver, I sat at Mothers’ table and had a large bowl of her homemade soup last week. (No Cheese toast)…. I though of you….

  2. Penny S Evans says:

    Eclectic assortment of movies. You’re ahead of me – I’ve only seen Midnight Cowboy. I loved Fred Neil’s tune, “Everybody’s Talkin'”.

  3. MargaretMcNeely says:

    Remember when you took our class to see Five Easy Pieces, and you had to come back out and get them to let me in because they thought I looked too young to see it?

  4. Janice says:

    I hope you will put a binder on those collections and share them with the world one day! I’ll be first in line to purchase my copy! (signed of course)

Leave a Reply

