Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Raking.  

The postman said, “I hate to tell you, but from the weather report, winds tomorrow will make it so you’ll never know you were out here today.”

“That’s all right,” I said.  “It’s fun for today.”

“Fun?”

“Yes, and in fresh air and sunshine and fall weather.”

“Well, carry on,” he said.

I raked and wondered at leaves.  I knew where most came from, but where are the sycamore tree, the turkey oak tree, and the birch tree?  I have a winter’s quest.

I banked trees and shrubs with leaves, hoping for good health of trees through winter.

The predicted winds did not come.  The yard was much cleared, at least for now.

On the OS Walk.  Jacob.

“Jacob, come back.  Come on.  Come on here.  That’s a good boy.”

Jacob, a miniature poodle, ran toward me.  I stopped and he jumped up on my pants.

“He doesn’t listen, does he?”said an old woman in tennis shoes and an old sweater.

“Nice dog.  How old is he?” I asked.

“Four years old.  And doesn’t mind worth a hoot.  But I just love him.” The old woman took a doggie treat from her sweater as I continued to pet Jacob.

“Those are nice shoes you have,” she said.  “I bet they’re comfortable.”

“Yes, for walking.  Got to be going.  Good to see you.”

As I walked away, and until maybe a quarter of a mile away, I heard her continue to call Jacob.  “Come on, Jacob.  That’ a good boy, come here!  I have a treat for you.  Here, boy.”

Jacob, pampered, adored, the Boss.

Notes on Reading.  Nonfiction.  Peter Wohlleben, The Hidden Life of Trees.  Greystone, 2015.

Wohlleben’s explanations of the biological, chemical, and ecological aspects of trees in anthropomorphic terms inspires the reader to understand and marvel at the Creation.

About billwednesdayblog

Retired high school English and French teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday, December 7, 2016

  1. MargaretMcNeely says:

    Happy December, Oliver!!!!

Leave a Reply

