Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Thanksgiving.  

In Raleigh, with friends.  There were twelve of us.  The feast was bountiful, the company congenial, the weather mild–short sleeved shirt weather.  After dinner and after some guests left, several of us sat on the porch, talking quietly, lingering our good-byes.

Green Chili.

When I visited Colorado during the summer, I enjoyed Mexican food made the way I cannot find here, entrees covered in green chili.  I thought that I should visit more often.  And then I thought, I should visit more often, but not for Mexican food.  I should find a recipe and learn to make green chili at home.

I found an internet recipe:  tomatillos, Anaheim and jalapeno peppers, green bell pepper, onion, tomatoes, garlic, several spices, pork shoulder, beer.  I roasted the chilis, green pepper, onions, and tomatillos, and followed the directions for using a crock pot.  Soon the aroma filled the house–wonderful!  For hours I wondered if I would like the dish.

I made a burrito of beans, pork, and cheese and smothered it with the green chili.  And yes!  It was not the taste I knew in Colorado.  There was something there I didn’t like: perhaps the tomatillos, the pork (it was lean), or the beer (a heavy lager).  But it was good, nevertheless, and I was able to eat and enjoy the experience of stopping several times to blow my nose from the spicy food.  I’ll keep working to refine the recipe.

Early Celebration.

I invited friends for supper.  We had an English-themed evening.  I bought Edam cheese and served it with Breton crackers.  I made shepherd’s pie.  We had butterscotch pudding for dessert.  They did not know Dylan Thomas’s “A Child’s Christmas in Wales,” so after dinner they allowed me to read it to them.

I remembered that when I visited Nantucket for Thanksgiving, it was the town’ tradition for a reader to read the work in the auditorium there the weekend after Thanksgiving.

From the Almanac.

The Full Moon of December will occur the night of Christmas, December 25.  The Full Moon of December is the Cold Moon.

Notes on Reading.  Nonfiction.  Paul Theroux, Deep South, Parts I and II.

Theroux drives on back roads in the Deep South and records his impressions and interviews ordinary people.  He avoids coastal areas and cities, visiting small towns and rural areas, most oppressed by poverty.  He makes generous references to scholarly work on the South, as well as literary works, notably those of Faulkner.  For next week, I hope to finish the book.

Thank you for reading.  I hope your Thanksgiving was good and that you will enjoy a good upcoming week.

About billwednesdayblog

Retired high school English and French teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday, December 2, 2015

  1. MargaretMcNeely says:

    You make me smile!!

  2. Tessa Johnson says:

    I remember standing outside my classroom door and listening to you read to your class. It was wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Hi Bill, I enjoyed the green chili story. I’ll look into the Nantucket tradition, that interests me. Merry Christmas!

  4. David Abell says:

    Bill, Enjoyable blog. Our friend John Walton makes a great green chile. When I get back to Denver, I’ll share the recipe from your blog and see if he has any suggestions. Dave

Leave a Reply

