Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Happy New Year!

A serious thought to start the year:  Katherine Howard, in a devotional book I use, made this observation:  “Who are we when we are no longer someone’s wife, husband, child, parent, friend?  When we are no longer secretary, lawyer, teacher, cook?  When we can no longer garden, walk, see?  . . . Our losses can be openings to a deeper identity.”

We talk about re-inventing ourselves.  But, as Howard observes, it’s not re-invention.  It’s realization.

My massage and Reiki practitioner reminded me that humor, even silliness, can dispel certain harmful negative energies.  I realize that zaniness has been absent in my life for a while.  I don’t make resolutions for a New Year, but I will plan to have larks, at least once a month.

For this month, at least one friend and I will howl at the Wolf Moon.  H-OW-OW-OW-L-L-L !   Yes.

Early in spring I will plan to guest-conduct the Atlantic Ocean or another body of water.  In my youth, I conducted the Atlantic Ocean wearing swim trunks and a t-shirt.  Now, as I am older, I am more humble, and will deign myself guest-conductor but I will conduct in a tuxedo.  I will conduct for two or three minutes (It will be a sea interlude.), and then treat the two or three friends I invite as audience and witness to a seafood dinner afterwards.  And, most importantly, laugh.  Laugh a good belly laugh at my foolishness.

Perhaps I’ll host a Red Neck tapas covered dish party.  Or invite folks over for a first day of spring outdoor costume party with polite but rowdy games.  Or dance a solo summer solstice dance–with hand-held percussion.  Or have friends over for a slap-stick comedy movie, even if at first we have to fake the laughter.  Possibilities are limited only by imagination and law.

On New Year’s Eve, I baked myself a birthday pie, my favorite pie, coconut custard.  It’s Goldy’s recipe.  Goldy put her pies on benches on her patio to cool, and to keep them safe from the five small, marauding boys (yes, I was one of them) who lived in the two houses across the street, made small pies for each of us that we were free to take.  The house surely smelled good with a baked pie on a cold winter’s night.  A small piece was part of New Year’s and my January 1 birthday’ s breakfast.

Let’s trust that the New Year will bring blessings  and opportunities.  We will have to work for good things, but we can do so, and it is time.

Thank you for reading.  I hope your week will be good.

About billwednesdayblog

Retired high school English and French teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday, January 1, 2014

  1. Masaki says:

    Happy New Year and Happy Birthday!
    Coconut custard pie sounds good. I miss Ms. Hamilton’s Rum cake.

  2. kay says:

    Happy Happy Birthday my dear sweet cousin! May 2014 be a zany year filled with silliness,and laughter that fills your soul with happiness !

  3. Betty Collins says:

    LOVE these thoughts & insipired ideas! WHAT an imagination! Though you live alone, you certainly entertain yourself with awesome reading, music, Catholicism & prayer, bright ideas for entertaining & gathering friends for fun & laughter. Would love to be a part of your silly gatherings–all of them. I rarely have a belly laugh, but Mike’s laugh is ready & willing & bursts forth at the slightest provocation. ;?} Didn’t you once say that you “made yourself” have one good belly-laugh a day to keep yourself well & release negative energy? You are an amazing & colorful man–the reason why you make such a delightful friend. Happy Birthday to one of our favorite friends. Also love the idea of baking yourself your favorite pie for your BD & the memories of Goldy & her individual pies for special neighborhood children. Mind boggling!

  4. Dave A says:

    January, the wolf moon. In the last few years there have been several unconfirmed sightings of wolves in CO. Coyotes, however, have been reported in all 50 states, including Hawaií. In this year’s first blog, I noted that CO has an abundant supply of these high spirited singers — and they are not just in the mountain valleys or remote high plains! Here in metro Denver coyotes are often heard in the city parks and along the area’s several long, winding agricultural irrigation canals. Coyotes have become so numerous that warning signs are posted in most every open space.

Leave a Reply

