Wednesday, December 25, 2013

Christmas Day.  To those who celebrate Christmas, I wish you Merry Christmas.  It is a cold and sunny day here.  Last night was clear, and the stars were brilliant.  I was not looking for Santa or for angels, just for what was there, which was enough.  For many today is the end of Christmas season.  But in my new dispensation, I learn that today is the beginning of Christmas celebrations.  Last night, for the first time in church there was a crèche, six Christmas trees, and Christmas hymns.

‘Twas the week before Christmas:

There was a particularly long choir rehearsal for last night’s celebrations of Lessons and Carols and Christmas Eve Mass.

I visited three cousins in the eastern part of the state.  We shared food and gifts and remembrances of times past in the family.

I had dinner with friends here in town.  There was a delicious beef stew and good fellowship with two couples and three young teen-agers.

I went to an open house in Durham.  The couple there has celebrated Christmas with open house for twenty-nine years, a good tradition.  The food and drinks there were bountiful and beautiful.

I received many Christmas cards and answered them.  I received several gifts and wrote thank-you notes for them.

I completed reading and correcting the first round of galley proofs sent from my publisher for my 584-page novel, to be published, if all goes well, early next year.

Winter came.  There were rainy, warm days, temperatures in high 60’s to mid-70’s, pneumonia weather, old timers used to say.  The Full Moon, the Cold Moon, lit the sky.

Christmas Eve Services.  The penultimate piece of Lessons and Carols was Charles Wesley’s great “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing.”  The choir and congregation accompanied by string quartet, organ, and trumpet, brought in Christmas with joy.  The trumpeter, with flourishes in the last stanza of the hymn, made glory audible.

I might be philosophical and make reflections here, but the recollection of events is good for now.  Sometimes things as they are are enough.

I will have a quiet day, including dinner with friends in the country.  Thank you for reading.  I hope your week will be good.

About billwednesdayblog

Retired high school English and French teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, December 25, 2013

  1. kay says:

    Merry Christmas to you!!!!

  2. Sandra S says:

    Bill, I’m thrilled to hear about the status of your novel. Your Christmas seemed for me a perfect example of peace and joy. Blessings, Sandi

Leave a Reply

