Wednesday, July 3, 2013

“Prophecy Girl,” from Season 1 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (1997).  Xander, who has just been rejected by two girls for a date says, “I’m just gonna go home, lie down, and listen to country music, the music of pain.”  The speech is spot-on in its representation of feelings of a teenager and its satire of country music.

July, in The Old Farmer’s 2013 Almanac by Robert B. Thomas, No. CCXXI:  Today (July 3)begins Dog Days; the Full Moon (the Buck Moon) is on Monday, July 22; planets visible will be Venus, Saturn, Jupiter, and Mars; stars visible will be Spica and Regulus.

“I have learned that to be with those I like is enough.”  (Walt Whitman, “I Sing the Body Electric,” 1855).  I recently enjoyed four days of vacation with two friends, and our time together once again showed me the truth of the quotation.

The docent at the state historic site knows history, and she obviously enjoys it. She gives an interesting  90-minute guided tour.  She has been a docent for only a month.  As far as I know, she has spoken English all of her life.  She speaks with difficulty.  Narrating past events, she uses almost exclusively the past perfect tense.  Her confusion of “amount” and “number” is evident.  The plural of “man,” she thinks, is “mans.”  She often transposes “d’s” and “t’s,” for instance, “Edenton” becomes “Etendon.”  It’s too bad that she doesn’t have a language coach.  She would be an excellent docent.

Good summer listening:  Samuel Barber’s “Knoxville: Summer of 1915” (words by James Agee).  Dawn Upshaw, soprano, and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, David Zinman, conductor.  The piece expresses a child’s recollections of summer evenings.  Ordinary activities, such as adults’ rocking on porches watching passing vehicles and pedestrians, the father’s draining and coiling the water hose, the sound of quiet talk and locusts, the family’s lying on a blanket and watching stars, frame the child’s awareness that he is part of all and cared for and loved and that his family “will not, oh will not, not now, not ever; but will not ever tell me who I am.”

Growing up is not learning and becoming what parents and others expect you to be.  Growing up is learning who you are and loving and developing that self, regardless of the expectations of others.

Interesting project assignment from Rev. Jan Thornton-Irvine’s class, Confirmation 101:  “Go through the New Testament and see how writers have described God, especially how Jesus does in the Gospels.”  I want to do the assignment to compare and contrast my concepts about and experiences with God.

Summer Walks

The world is wet, saturated.  Water is deep in depressed areas.  I look in for fish or frogs or mosquito larvae.  Grass clippings raked onto the street are wet muck.

I am startled to see a FOR SALE sign at a house a couple of blocks away.  It is an old house of wood on a corner lot.  There are a small fenced area and a storage shed in the back yard.  There are a new portable carport and large hydrangeas in the side yard.

Crepe myrtle trees are just beginning to bloom.  I admire lilies, stop to smell a subtly fragrant lilac blossom, look askance at a mimosa tree, perhaps the only thing in Nature I don’t like.  I admired hydrangea, which are magic.

A boy plays with a glider in his front yard, stopping to help his mother with groceries after she pulls her car into the driveway.

A woman walking a small black dog gives a terse, “Good morning,” as we pass.  Later I greet another woman with a beautiful setter as we pause at the red light at the railroad tracks.  She answers my questions about her well-trained dog.

Why does a friend have one corn stalk growing in the border by the side of her house at the back door?  I will ask her when I see her in church.  She is apt to tell me that it is none of my business.  She is feisty.

The driver of a large truck makes a wide and tight turn as he leaves the parking lot of the Kingsdown Mattress plant.  He does not notice me on the sidewalk opposite.  He is focused, intent on driving.

At home the rue, half the daisies, and most of the lavender and lovage and gardenia have finished blooming.  Yarrow continues to bloom.  My two hosta plants may be in danger.  Recently I saw a deer in a yard across the street and diagonal to mine.

Thank you for reading.  I hope your week will be good.

About billwednesdayblog

Retired high school English and French teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

